Why being called ‘mate’ might actually be offensive.

Stereotypical Australian saying

As Australians we’ve grown up accepting ‘mate’ as a part our own lingo but what does it actually mean? Are the recipients of the word actually your mate or can anyone be called mate?

Oxford Dictionaries defines ‘mate’ as a person’s husband, wife or other sexual partner. While Urban Dictionary depicts a similar definition, it puts an interesting spin on the concept. User Scrabelle says it means a friend, recognisably Australian..[a] term most commonly used between men, when they cannot remember each other’s names.

So are we really using this terminology to describe our friend or lover, or is this just an excuse to cover up the fact we can’t remember an individuals’ name?

I set out to find out what ‘mate‘ actually meant in this day and age in good ol’ ‘Straya, so lets start with the boys. Majority defined it as a saying they never really thought about (are we surprised from that?). They said any one could be a mate, the butcher, friends from school, random person in the pub or even their old man (in Australia that’s lingo for father).

So what about the girls? As the saying goes men from venus, women from mars, the same can be said about this definition. The girls definitely believed that not just ANY one could be classified as a ‘mate’, although this was a rare term used by females, it still was reserved for special friends that would go above and beyond for that person.

Well here’s my opinion on the matter, I believe it is offensive. As an ex-bartender I frequently had to hear men’s banter and when this went to far I had to rein them in and use the term ‘mate’ to settle them down. Hell I even remember saying to patrons “What you havin’ mate?” a little part of me felt badass as I said it and it felt good. I know you’re probably thinking “How does she think that word is offensive then?” well I think it comes down to the fact I would hate to be called ‘mate’ and whenever any one calls me the word I just cringe.

All in all I believe it comes down to perspective, what you may find offensive will most likely not be to the person next to you. So when you’re saying ‘mate’ to the checkout chick, the local McDonald’s worker or the even the stranger next to you on the train, ask them if it offends them. Who knows their answer might surprise you.

Leave a comment